SB72 + Photoelectric Sensor

Discussion to talk about hardware related topics only.
chrishardy99

SB72 + Photoelectric Sensor

Post by chrishardy99 »

I'm very new to all of this, and I was wondering if I could get some information about the best way to connect a photo eye to an SB72 board. I see that there are 4 available GPIO pins - what would be involved in using these? Is there a better way? Any help or guidance would be massively appreciated!
v8dave

Re: SB72 + Photoelectric Sensor

Post by v8dave »

Hi Chris,

It all depends on the electrical output of the photo electric eye. Can you provide a link to the datasheet and we can then offer you some ideas?

If the output is a simple switched output, then you can simply read it on the GPIO port after converting it electrically to the input requirements of the SB72. Most types of devices like this switch to GND when active but until we see the information this is just a guess.

Dave...
Ridgeglider

Post by Ridgeglider »

I agree w/ Dave: the interface to the NB depends on the sensor. The most common error in connecting devices to NB modules is a voltage mis-match. The voltage must stay between a 3.3V maximum, and a 0V minimum. There are many opto sensors available meeting this requirement.
Chris Ruff

Post by Chris Ruff »

I think this is too early of a question.

The first question should be "what light sensing do I need? proportional? on-off? analog with a threshold?

Once that question is answered one would choose the opto device. The opto device will then point to what kind of hardware interface.

One way to handle this is to use a simple opto-transistor biased by say 30k to 3.3volts. buffer the output of the opto collector with an op-amp and drive a resistor array->four wide comparator to drive the 4 signals and give you 16 steps of sensed light.

or use one op amp to buffer and another to act like a comparator with a pot to generate the on-off signal for one of the GPIO lines