Reattach debugger after terminate fails

Discussion to talk about software related topics only.
ALevine

Reattach debugger after terminate fails

Post by ALevine »

Hi all,

I am new to NetBurner, but not to Eclipse or GDB (mostly using JTAG).
We are evaluating NetBurner to replace an existing solution.

Vitals:
NNDK version 3.5.0
MOD5441X
NNDK-MOD54415LC-KIT

Since we are in early stages I have been importing and running the simple examples.
What I find is that after running the debugger and terminating the debug session the debugger fails to reattach on the next launch (though not always).
The message is: "Failed to send application to device. Aborting debug session"

The examples I have run are: SImpleHtml, TcpSimpleServer, TcpToSerial
I see this problem on all of them

As I said this does not happen every time and I have been trying to narrow down a pattern that both make it fail and the ones that don't fail; with no clear procedural steps to mitigate the issue found.
My nearest guess is that the program is still running when I terminate and it is stuck in a blocking call, but this is just a wild guess.
If I press the reset button it always recovers, normally I would be fine with this but I want to work remotely as well and obviously I cannot press reset in this case.

I tried putting in a thread that just reads stdin and if it gets an 'r' it reboots, however I found this does not solve the issue.

Has anyone experienced this, and is there a work-around?

Thanks in advance.

Regards,

A.A.L.
TomNB

Re: Reattach debugger after terminate fails

Post by TomNB »

Hello,