I did try a reinstall. Nothing. I entered the serial number for each platform and for SNMP as I've done with previous versions. Is there something else I now need to do? Is a "keycode" different than the serial number?
Steve
Checksum Fail
Re: Checksum Fail
Try the following...
As you asked abotu make files and the command line...
From the command prompt
in c:\nburn\ directory...
cd c:\nburn\
setenv
cd system
make clean
make
cd \nburn\yourplatform\
cd system
make clean
make
That should build everything...
If you have multiple makes in your system....
Try
make --version
Your result should look something like:
c:\nburn>make --version
GNU Make 3.81
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.
There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
This program built for i686-pc-mingw32
As you asked abotu make files and the command line...
From the command prompt
in c:\nburn\ directory...
cd c:\nburn\
setenv
cd system
make clean
make
cd \nburn\yourplatform\
cd system
make clean
make
That should build everything...
If you have multiple makes in your system....
Try
make --version
Your result should look something like:
c:\nburn>make --version
GNU Make 3.81
Copyright (C) 2006 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
This is free software; see the source for copying conditions.
There is NO warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A
PARTICULAR PURPOSE.
This program built for i686-pc-mingw32
-
- Posts: 630
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:55 am
Re: Checksum Fail
Without SNMP installed "make clean" will fail. Maybe it's time to call tech support.
Steve
Steve
-
- Posts: 630
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:55 am
Re: Checksum Fail
Ok, it looks like SNMP was actually installed. I was fooled by the path the makefile was using. It kept trying to use \nburn\SNMP, but that's not where SNMP is installed. In any case, it turns out that the real problem is that I am installing 3-platforms in addition to SNMP. And the current method for rebuilding the system libraries for SNMP is to use a single environment variable to select the platform to build for.
Therefore, I needed to manually set environment variable PLATFORM to the first module (MOD5234). Navigate to \nburn\system, do a clean then a make. Then navigate to the platform's system directory and do a clean and a make. Then go back to \nburn\system and change PLATFORM to the next module (MOD5441X) and do a clean and a make. Then navigate to that platform's system directory and do the same. And repeat the process for the last module.
That get's everything built for SNMP use.
Of course my project no long compiles. But the system is ready for SNMP now.
Therefore, I needed to manually set environment variable PLATFORM to the first module (MOD5234). Navigate to \nburn\system, do a clean then a make. Then navigate to the platform's system directory and do a clean and a make. Then go back to \nburn\system and change PLATFORM to the next module (MOD5441X) and do a clean and a make. Then navigate to that platform's system directory and do the same. And repeat the process for the last module.
That get's everything built for SNMP use.
Of course my project no long compiles. But the system is ready for SNMP now.
Re: Checksum Fail
There are many libraries, but just a couple important to this discussion. Lib files end in ".a".
The \nburn\system and \nburn\include will build NetBurner.a. This lib is not platform dependent, so you only need to build it once.
The \nburn\Mod5234\system and \nburn\Mod5234\include will build Mod5234.a. As you would guess, this is specific to the Mod5234. All your 3 platforms will have their own lib file.
So if you install 3 platforms and work in eclipse, selecting nbeclipse-> rebuild all system files, it takes care of all this for you.
If using command line mode you would SET PLATFORM=MOD5234, then go to \nburn\Mod5234\system and run "make". Repeat this for each platform you have.
The \nburn\system and \nburn\include will build NetBurner.a. This lib is not platform dependent, so you only need to build it once.
The \nburn\Mod5234\system and \nburn\Mod5234\include will build Mod5234.a. As you would guess, this is specific to the Mod5234. All your 3 platforms will have their own lib file.
So if you install 3 platforms and work in eclipse, selecting nbeclipse-> rebuild all system files, it takes care of all this for you.
If using command line mode you would SET PLATFORM=MOD5234, then go to \nburn\Mod5234\system and run "make". Repeat this for each platform you have.
-
- Posts: 630
- Joined: Mon May 12, 2008 10:55 am
Re: Checksum Fail
If the \nburn\system libraries are platform independent, why will make fail if an installed platform is not set? I noticed that the system makefile includes and uses makefiles from the selected platform. Which is why make fails if the platform environment variable is not set.
Re: Checksum Fail
Can't say for sure, but some guesses are:
The tools as a general rule might always want to know what platform you are using, even if its just for log files of the build.
Platform is always set to something. You were using an invalid one, snmp. I don't think you can make a case for an invalid platform to work anyway. Maybe the make system in general is trying to do some error checking and report invalid settings.
If I was going to make system file modifications for some reason, I might want to know what platform I'm on for any h/w specific reasons. For example, adding another timer. That would be different on the various platforms. Now I think this would be a bad thing, since any h/w specific things should be in the platform directories, but maybe others don't care.
The tools as a general rule might always want to know what platform you are using, even if its just for log files of the build.
Platform is always set to something. You were using an invalid one, snmp. I don't think you can make a case for an invalid platform to work anyway. Maybe the make system in general is trying to do some error checking and report invalid settings.
If I was going to make system file modifications for some reason, I might want to know what platform I'm on for any h/w specific reasons. For example, adding another timer. That would be different on the various platforms. Now I think this would be a bad thing, since any h/w specific things should be in the platform directories, but maybe others don't care.