Page 1 of 1
Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 9:01 am
by k1mgy
Let's assume that one has completed testing of their Netburner project. The hardware is ready to go. There are 100 units waiting to be flashed, configured, tested, packaged, and shipped. Assume also that each unit has a unique Device ID and a few other tidbits (perhaps XML formatted) burned into a non-volatile storage area (perhaps the 8 KB Global Configuration Record). Note to self: This storage area may also find use by the Netburner host application, so we must be careful to not mangle the factory configuration record.
What is the recommended procedure to flash multiple Netburner units?
Is there a method available to flash many at one time (unique configuration record notwithstanding)?
Perhaps it's best to flash from the IDE, but this seems prone to mishap (the procedure would be performed by non-programmers).
Re: Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:46 am
by rnixon
You can run autoupdate stand-alone, either as a gui or from the command line. For multiple units I think its easier from the command line because you can specify all the parameters, rather than pick them in a gui. The parameter descriptions are in the NetBurner pc tools document. Program a unit, hit the up arrow, program the next unit, etc. Also, the autoupdate source code comes with the kit, so you can write your own update utility if you want.
A note on writing to the user flash area - never do this immediately on boot in your application. If you get a user or production test person turning power on/off quickly and repeatedly (like jiggling a power switch), it can corrupt the flash memory.
Re: Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 10:50 am
by tod
Run auto update from a batch file. You want to see
this Wiki Page. Then you'll probably want to read Chapter 11 of the referenced manual. I had a project where 24 NetBurners had to be flashed each time the app updated. I would have gone crazy trying to do that from the IDE during testing.
Re: Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:44 pm
by lgitlitz
You probably want to change the configuration record at runtime. In a previous thread I showed how to change the configuration at runtime to enable the WD Timer. First I check if the record has the WD enabled, if not I rewrite the record and force reboot. This should only rewrite the config record the first time your application runs.
http://forum.embeddedethernet.com/viewt ... ?f=5&t=596
Re: Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 12:59 pm
by greengene
amen, brother rnixon!
"A note on writing to the user flash area - never do this immediately on boot in your application. If you get a user or production test person turning power on/off quickly and repeatedly (like jiggling a power switch), it can corrupt the flash memory."
that note in its entirety should be added to the UpdateConfigRecord section of the Runtime Libraries manual
in huge, bold print. maybe multiple times. and then some more. and even bigger.
the number of RMAs i got on this issue alone caused the loss of the rest of my hair. arghhhhhhhhh!!!!!!
you try to idiot proof a system but there is always a better idiot that comes along...
Re: Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Mon Oct 25, 2010 1:05 pm
by greengene
and ... the SaveUserParameters section which is actually the one that always got me.
Re: Production Configuration and Flash
Posted: Tue Oct 26, 2010 5:53 am
by k1mgy
Thank you all very much indeed for steering me in the proper direction.
If you get a user or production test person turning power on/off quickly and repeatedly (like jiggling a power switch), it can corrupt the flash memory
Would not corruption in the user portion only be a bother to the user application? How could mangling the 8KB user block brick a SB70LC?