Page 1 of 1

Debug vector access error

Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 8:36 am
by ckoehler
Hello,

I get a vector access error right off the bat when I start my app, so I checked out the PC address and found the line of code, placed a breakpoint and am wanting to debug it with GDB. However, The autoupdater always times out, I am guessing because the app is crashed and the auto updater isn't running anymore. So, what can I do to get GDB running?

Thanks!

EDIT:
Actually, it seems that my app crashes before any output in the UserMain function, so I'm not quite sure what's up. It also shows the faulted PC to be all 0s. Hmm.


Christoph

Re: Debug vector access error

Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:13 am
by Forrest
You can't use autoupdate to update to a board that is trapping. You will need to load a different application via MTTTY to allow autoupdate to work again. I usually just update the device with the original factory app.

See http://wiki.embeddedethernet.com/Suppor ... _via_MTTTY for information on how to upload to the device via MTTTY.

Re: Debug vector access error

Posted: Mon Jun 28, 2010 10:15 am
by ckoehler
Thanks, figured that out. The problem I had was that none of the s19 files were loading with the FLA command. Turns out a simple reset won't do. I had to unpower the board, power it back up and hit A to go to the monitor before anything else started. That worked.

Thanks!

Christoph