Debugger connecting to wrong IP

Topics for the Eclipse Environment
sulliwk06

Debugger connecting to wrong IP

Post by sulliwk06 »

I'll start by saying I've never used the debugger before. I'm trying to get the debugger to connect to my application, but it its trying to connect to the wrong IP. Previously the project IP was set to 192.168.1.3, but I changed the IP on the device to 192.168.1.5, so I had to change the project settings to match. I changed the IP in Project->Properties->Netburner Options, and I also changed it in the Debug Configurations window. But when I try to connect, the error shows it trying to connect to the previous IP:

"Target selection failed.
192.168.1.3:2159: No connection could be made because the target machine actively refused it."

The IP shows up correctly everywhere. How do I get the debugger to connect on the new IP?
Ridgeglider

Re: Debugger connecting to wrong IP

Post by Ridgeglider »

For some reason, there are 2 places in the Properties tabs where IP must be specified. Sometimes, if you copy settings from one project to another, (rather than define a new project from scratch) the copied settings get mixed up and retain the settings of the parent project.

Select your project in the Project Explorer. Right Click. Select Properties. In the left hand Properties column, select NetBurner Options, then in the right hand pane set the IP, click APPLY. Next, go back to the left hand Properties pane, select Run/Debug Settings. You should see a launc configuration for your project. Select it, the click EDIT and make sure the project and the target IP are properly spec'd. Click OK, then APPLY, then OK.
sulliwk06

Post by sulliwk06 »

Apparently, there is a third place you have to change it as well. I already had the 2 you mentioned set up correctly. But under the specific Debug Configuration you have selected, there is a Debugger tab, which has a Connection tab, which has an IP field that was still set to the old one.