NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Topics for the Eclipse Environment
fanat9
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by fanat9 »

Trying to use nbeclipse as a plugin - no success yet.

What i did:
I have installed the latest NNDK into default c:\Nburn directory.
Installed(unpacked) nbeclipse plugin into my default Eclipse(3.4.1): c:\eclipse\plugins

When after loading Eclipse and creating a fresh Netburner project I found that project won't compile for obvious reason - incorrect path's to all necessary includes:
**** Internal Builder is used for build ****
m68k-elf-g++ -O2 -falign-functions=4 -I$(NBROOTMINGW)\include -I$(NBROOTMINGW)\MOD5282\include -I$(NBROOTMINGW)\gcc-m68k\m68k-elf\include -gdwarf-2 -Wall -Wno-write-strings -c -fmessage-length=0 -fno-rtti -fno-exceptions -mcpu=5208 -DMOD5282 -omain.o ..\main.cpp
..\main.cpp:1:20: error: predef.h: No such file or directory
..\main.cpp:4:22: error: startnet.h: No such file or directory
..\main.cpp:5:24: error: autoupdate.h: No such file or directory
..\main.cpp:6:24: error: dhcpclient.h: No such file or directory
..\main.cpp:7:23: error: smarttrap.h: No such file or directory
..\main.cpp:8:21: error: taskmon.h: No such file or directory
NBROOTMINGW is correct.
I'm not sure what is the right way to fix it.
Any body got that plugin work?
Ridgeglider
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:14 am

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by Ridgeglider »

Yes, I have it working... Trying to remember the steps...

1) I dDownloaded this eclipse build (although a plain CDT build may be more appropriate for you):
The following eclipse download includes a typical java environment….:
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/packag ... /ganymeder
or more specifically for windows:
http://www.eclipse.org/downloads/downlo ... -win32.zip

2) Next, I unzipped the eclipse-java-ganymede-win32.zip into a new folder I placed in C:\Nburn called NBEclipse_Ganymede_Java. FYI, I kept the regular (non-plugin Rel23_rc1 ) NBEclipse folder too. (It is worth noting that because of this, I can run either the plugin or non-plugin versions, although to date I have them pointed at different workspaces...)

3) Open the new Eclipse and make sure CDT is installed. With the Java setup I started with this necessitated an update via the Eclipse Help/Software Updates/ganymede/C and C++ Development series of menus, etc.

4) Once CDT is installed quit Eclipse and load the NB plugin. To do this, just unzip the NB plugin so it extracts into the new NBEclipse_Ganymede_Java directory. Happily, (thanks Forrest!) it politely installed into the proper Eclipse plugin (sub)
directory!

5) Once again, thanks Forrest for getting all this going. Very cool.

Finally, if anyone has the SubClipse Subversion plugin going, I'd be interested in the installation details. Haven't had time to get that far yet...
User avatar
Forrest
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:05 am

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by Forrest »

Are you using NNDK2.3 RC2?
Forrest Stanley
Project Engineer
NetBurner, Inc

NetBurner Learn Articles: http://www.netburner.com/learn
fanat9
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by fanat9 »

Yes, Rel23_rc2.

Will try Ridgeglider's recipe tonight. Major difference could be in location of "Workspace" - in my case its C:\Projects\.
User avatar
Forrest
Posts: 288
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2008 10:05 am

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by Forrest »

In addition to what was said above, try re downloading the nbeclipse.zip plugin file. It sounds like you might have rc1 plugins running rc2 nndk.
Forrest Stanley
Project Engineer
NetBurner, Inc

NetBurner Learn Articles: http://www.netburner.com/learn
fanat9
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by fanat9 »

Same thing with fresh downloaded plugin.
When I create a new test project in my C:\Projects, in the Tab "Problems" shown 3 warnings:
Invalid project path: Include path not found (C:\Projects\modTest\Release\$(NBROOTMINGW)\gcc-m68k\m68k-elf\include).
Invalid project path: Include path not found (C:\Projects\modTest\Release\$(NBROOTMINGW)\include).
Invalid project path: Include path not found (C:\Projects\modTest\Release\$(NBROOTMINGW)\MOD5282\include).
I went to Project Properties/ C/C++Build / Settings/ ToolSettings and manually changed path's to includes and lib's. But stucked at:
**** Internal Builder is used for build ****
m68k-elf-g++ main.o -Wl,-Map=modTest.map -mcpu=5208 -Wl -Wl,-n -T$(NBROOTMINGW)\MOD5282\lib\MOD5282.ld -Wl,-R$(NBROOTMINGW)\MOD5282\lib\sys.ld -Wl,--start-group,C:\Nburn\lib\MOD5282.a C:\Nburn\lib\NetBurner.a C:\Nburn\lib\FatFile.a -Wl,--end-group -omodTest.elf
c:/nburn/gcc-m68k/bin/../lib/gcc/m68k-elf/4.2.1/../../../../m68k-elf/bin/ld.exe: cannot open linker script file $(NBROOTMINGW)\MOD5282\lib\MOD5282.ld: No such file or directory
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
Build error occurred, build is stopped
Time consumed: 1735 ms.
Btw, in this menu if you trying to just change path's it's restore it to defaults like nothing was changed. But if I instead of changing add "new" and then delete defaults - it did save them.
Last edited by fanat9 on Thu Oct 23, 2008 8:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Ridgeglider
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:14 am

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by Ridgeglider »

Forrest:

Hmmm. Was not aware of the _rc2 build.

Release_tag says I'm running Rel23_rc1, extracted from Netburner Tools NNDK23_rc1.zip (downloaded Oct 3 2008)
Eclipse says I'm using the NB 2.3.1 Tools, Core, Doc and Toolchain plugins.


Things SEEM to work...

Somehow the _rc2 build slipped by. Any hints about what the revs fix?
Don't get too indepth... Will probaly just update!

Fanat9: In additon to difference with your workspace, sounded like your new eclipse folder (the one attempting to use the NB plugin) may not have been in the NBurn directory? I initially had this problem and although the NB plugins installed into Eclipse OK, I couldn't build, clean, use app wizard etc because the paths were broken. To fix this, I initially just renamed the original (non-plugin) NBEclipse directory to NBEclipseOrig and then simply dragged the new (NBplugin) Eclipse folder into NBurn and renamed it NBEclipse. When That worked, I renamed it againt to NBEclipse_Ganymede_Java, just to clarify the difference from the orig. Seems to work fine...?


Once again, I continue to be interested in Subclipse. Anybody..?
Ridgeglider
Posts: 513
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 7:14 am

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by Ridgeglider »

Fanat9: See my previous post about locating your eclipse folder within the nburn folder. Brfore I moved it into the Nburn folder, I seem to remeber ggettinng similar errors to the ones you describe.
fanat9
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 4:23 pm
Location: Boston
Contact:

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by fanat9 »

Well, for me a whole idea of using netburner plugin's is possibility to use it with my existing Eclipse setup =)

Finally it looks like I got what I want.
Plugin's was keeping to reset my changes in project settings. And finally I found the source of default settings: C:\Nburn\MOD5282\properties and C:\Nburn\MOD5234\properties files. Once I changed whose files to have absolute paths for settings and delete/create new projects problem gone =)

Regards.
User avatar
tod
Posts: 587
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 8:27 am
Location: Southern California
Contact:

Re: NBEclipse as a plugin for Eclipse.

Post by tod »

I just downloaded the latest release and was reading this thread with interest. When I went back to the Get Latest Tools link on the NetBurner site I don't see a NBEclipse plug-in download just the full release. Can someone tell me where it is?

Thanks

Tod
Post Reply