Breakpoints in UserMain

Topics for the Eclipse Environment
sblair

Breakpoints in UserMain

Post by sblair »

I'm just getting started with the NBEclipse and the Netburner products here, but I'm running into a bit of an issue with getting breakpoints to work in the debugger.

I've tried creating a new project and using the MOD5270 FactoryDemo project. In both cases I can add iprintf() statements to UserMain, complile and see that they are working. But I can never hit any breakpoints I set in UserMain at all though. I have been able to set breakpoints in the WebLeds() in Webfuncs.cpp and those work. I've also tried setting the Debug configuration to 'stop on startup at:' both UserMain and main and that never seems to work either.

Help?

Thanks.
Scott
tod

Re: Breakpoints in UserMain

Post by tod »

Have you watched the Debug Demo screencast on the Wiki? You can also get to it directly on youtube. I find most screencasts easier to watch on YouTub because you can increase the resolution and make it full screen. In the screencast not the statement used in the code to get the debugger to start and wait.
sblair

Post by sblair »

I hadn't seen the video before, but it didn't address the issues.

I figured out earlier the issue with hitting the breakpoints was that my breakpoints were all too soon after Network GDB was enabled. Once I gave it a bit more time after that call, then they started working.

I still have not solved the issue of why the 'stop at startup at:' set to Main or UserMain doesn't work in the debug settings.
mhoyt

Post by mhoyt »

Try adding a short delay after the call to wait for gdb. I use OSTimeDly(1).

--Mike
sblair

Post by sblair »

mhoyt wrote:Try adding a short delay after the call to wait for gdb. I use OSTimeDly(1).

--Mike
Mike, that is what I did and it solved the issue. Is there any way to be able to set it to break on startup though? So you can stop at the top of Main or UserMain?
rnixon

Post by rnixon »