Port selection on PINK

Community forum for discussion and support of the PINK product and development kit
Post Reply
sci_prez
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:23 am

Port selection on PINK

Post by sci_prez » Tue Oct 01, 2013 7:10 am

I have number of monitoring systems deployed based on the SB70 with the PINK application.

When using a browser, I sometimes get a "page not found" message. I originally thought this was just one of those internet latency issues. But, I've recently found that even when getting a page not found error I can always use telnet to connect with the module.

In trying to isolate the problem, I'd like to use a different port for the SB70 (say 8080 instead of 80) to see if the ISP is blocking port 80 services.

Can I set the port used by the PINK?

Thanks,

Tom Sisk

rnixon
Posts: 833
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:59 pm

Re: Port selection on PINK

Post by rnixon » Tue Oct 01, 2013 9:51 am

An easy test would be to connect the pc and pink to a router or switch, then you eliminate going through your isp.

sci_prez
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:23 am

Re: Port selection on PINK

Post by sci_prez » Tue Oct 01, 2013 10:35 am

Quite right.

During development on my local network this issue was not apparent. Its only when out in the field on a few sites that it becomes noticeable.

The immediate question is whether the PINK's port number can be easily changed.

Cheers

User avatar
pbreed
Posts: 730
Joined: Thu Apr 24, 2008 3:58 pm

Re: Port selection on PINK

Post by pbreed » Tue Oct 01, 2013 4:02 pm

If you are building the pink app then its easy...
In the UserMain call StartHTTP just add the port you want...

IE

StartHTTP(8080);


If your using the default app there is presently no easy way to change it....

sci_prez
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2013 11:23 am

Re: Port selection on PINK

Post by sci_prez » Wed Oct 02, 2013 5:28 am

I was afraid of that!

We've been using standard application as it does everything we need and the client is very comfortable with it.

Is there a way to have a separate piece of code change the port number, without digging into the standard application?

Thanks for your insight.

Tom

Herschel51
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:33 pm

Re: Port selection on PINK

Post by Herschel51 » Wed Jan 01, 2014 10:39 pm

Thanks for sharing.

Mike2545
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Aug 20, 2014 6:07 pm

Re: Port selection on PINK

Post by Mike2545 » Sat Aug 30, 2014 1:29 pm

You can set up a single port forward/redirect in the router. So when you do http://YourPinkAddress.com:8080 the router redirects to the internal IP address you give the PINK.

Post Reply