MOD54415 IRQ

for everything else
jediengineer

MOD54415 IRQ

Post by jediengineer »

Hey all,

Probably a simple software question, but I couldn't quite discern the answer from the runtime library - keep in mind I'm not that good with software - yet...
Anyways, I have to ask this because my board isn't assembled yet so I can't test it.

I've enabled IRQ1 and IRQ2 on my system, and have the ISR routines set up as such:

SetPinIrq( 43, -1, &LockoutISR);
SetPinIrq( 45, -1, &OBSModeISR);

void OBSModeISR(void)
{

// ISR subroutine for manual observation mode
}

void LockoutISR(void)
{

// ISR subroutine for manual Lockout - only hard reset brings it out
while(1);
}

My question is, can I create a while loop in the ISR that polls the IRQ pin to see if the state has changed? or is that not valid in an ISR? For instance, if using IRQ2:

while (!J2[43])
{

//do stuff
}
//rest of IRQ ISR stuff here...

My IRQ pins are connected to a toggle switch via schmitt trigger for manual control of my machine. Basically I want the ISR to loop until the switch state changes...

Sorry if it sounds like a simple question, just had to ask before I turn this thing on this week. Thanks!!
Ridgeglider

Re: MOD54415 IRQ

Post by Ridgeglider »

Not a good idea to tie up an IRQ in a while loop, particularly one that waits for user input that nay never arrive. Much better to post a semaphore to a task that can pending on user input when and if it shows up, or that can pend for a finite time before handling an error.If you go this route, your ISR should probably reconfigure the pin funtion from IRQ to GPIO so a task can polll the input. when the task completes (if successful) the last step would be to reconfigure the pin as an IRQ.