NetBurner with gigabit LAN-Interface

Discussion to talk about hardware related topics only.
stephan.boeck

NetBurner with gigabit LAN-Interface

Post by stephan.boeck »

Hello everybody,

I am quite new to the NetBurner. In my company, we use a MOD54415 to receive data via ethernet and distribute it to our hardware.
Depending on the operation mode of the HW, we need to receive a lot of data. Therefore the 100mbit on the 54415 seems a bit slow for us.

By any chance, is there a new SoM coming that supports a gigabit LAN-Interface?

Maybe there are some other methods to boost the transfer rate?

Thanks,
Stephan
pbreed

Re: NetBurner with gigabit LAN-Interface

Post by pbreed »

There are a number of things you can do to speed up the transfer rate...
Based on your comments your recieving data correct?
I assume this is TCP data?

What sort of data rate are you presently achieving?
What do you want to hit?
Do you need any kind of security SSL Etc...
pbreed

Post by pbreed »

Also are you using the 3.X or 2.9 branch of the NNDK?
Do you have control of the sending application ie the thing sending the data?

The simplest thing to speed up TCP receive is to set the receive buffers
int SetSocketRxBuffers( int fd, int n );
n is the number of buffers....to allcoate to the recieve socket.
numbers over 44 have no effect. Default is 3.

The next RX speed up step is to register a callback to handle the TCP payload directly without copying it to a buffer....
The exact details of that will vary depending on 2.9.x or 3.x NNDK

In any case submit a support request and well help you speed up what you have.

We realize that gigbit is wanted, but we also understand that it will require a fair bit of processor horsepower
to take advantage of it.
stephan.boeck

Post by stephan.boeck »

Hello,

thanks for your response and I have to apologize for my long response time, quite busy times atm...